Bro, buy suntan lotion! And more national forests!


JACKSON, WY — Another day, more sunburn for me!

Actually, it was another fabulous day on the road as my road trip is slowly coming to a close.

I drove through three more national forests — Cache, Caribou and Bridger and Teton — and Cache took the cake by a mile.

18268280_1534241956607368_8188767673458727665_n.jpg
View from the top of Cache National Forest.

The West is absolutely gorgeous and I’m not even an outdoors person. This is an incredible place to travel and see, and I urge all people my age to do it. The only thing you’ll regret is not doing it.

18199213_1534242216607342_4040568170018478273_n.jpg
This little duck was trying to get this weed for five minutes. He finally got it.
18198728_1534242073274023_4845983838045789125_n.jpg
Cache National Forest.

After I got through Cache National Forest, I stopped in Fish Haven, Idaho, for some golf overlooking Bear Lake, which is a big ass body of water. That’s the only way I can describe it.

I golfed a great round and got more sunburned in the process. But I made a few pars and birds during my nine holes, so it was worth it!

I stopped in Garden City, Utah, which is before Fish Haven, for a big burger called the “Big Bear.” It was two patties, tomato, onions, lettuce, ketchup, mustard and mayo and it was fabulous. I’m a huge fan of drive-ins and this was great! Easy, simple food.

After my meal, it was time to hit the links at Bear Lake West Golf Course, which is a nice 9-hole course overlooking Bear Lake. The guy running the pro shop was out killing weeds when I pulled up and his internet was working when I checked in, so he said, “Just stop by after your round is done and pay then.” I guess I played too quickly because when I came back, his internet still wasn’t working.

He told me today was my lucky day, which I didn’t think it was because I’m pink like a salmon fillet! But he bought my round and we shared a 25-minute conversation. He was a good guy and I’ll definitely stop back if I get the chance to be in the area again.

It couldn’t have been a better day for golf. No wind and 75 degrees. I’ll bring the suntan lotion next time.

I arrived in Jackson, Wyoming a little after 4:15 p.m. and this town in fantastic. I’m looking to have a fun night here before hopefully finishing my last round of golf in the morning in the Teton Forest and traveling through Yellowstone National Park and ending up in Sheridan.

I’m sad my vacation is coming to an end, but this has been the best experience of my life.

Two more days!

I’m off to buy some damn lotion!

What do YOU think?

