Minnesota sports and my trip


I haven’t written in quite a while, so I thought I would give everyone an update on my life and the Minnesota sports scene.

I have been keeping up with the Minnesota Golden Gophers men’s basketball team, Minnesota Wild and Minnesota Timberwolves.

All three teams have been a joy to watch. 

The Gophers are a completely different team than last year’s squad that dragged its dead carcass to an 8-23 record. Minnesota has a chance to win its eighth Big Ten game of the season, which would equal its win total from 2016. Amir Coffey, Reggie Lynch, Jordan Murphy and Nate Mason are four, big time players who have lead this team’s turnaround. I appreciate keeping Richard Pitino as head coach. While last year was a circus, he is about to lead this squad to the NCAA tournament (fingers crossed). 

The Timberwolves have been a little underwhelming. The knee injury to Zach LaVine took some of the wind out of my sails, but Andrew Wiggins and Karl-Anthony Towns have shown they will be great players. This team is missing two veterans who can still produce. It’ll be interesting to see if the Timberwolves make a run at the eighth spot in the Western Conference. I hope they do. I was hoping they would be competing for a six or five seed, but I would settle for the eighth seed, even if it means a first-round exit at the hands of the Golden State Warriors. I want to see the Timberwolves play meaningful basketball in April.

The Wild has been the biggest and best surprise in Minnesota this season. They are the clear favorite in the Western Conference, even though the Chicago Blackhawks scare me because of their veterans. But Wild coach Bruce Boudreau has this team playing at its highest level since the franchise was born in 2000. He has the young guys — Charlie Coyle, Mikael Granlund, Jason Zucker and Nino Niederreiter — playing at their highest respective levels of their young careers. This franchise has never eclipsed 100 points in its history, but it already has 84 points. It has 24 games left on the table. There is no question this team will play meaningful hockey come late April, May and hopefully into June. The only negativity is that Minnesota fans have seen its teams have great regular season, only to fold in the playoffs.

This year feels different, though.

As for me personally, I have planned my very first vacation and I’m pumped about it. I have been saving for over a year and now it’s a little over two months away. I plan on taking a road trip out west. I hope to visit some old friends, see some great monuments and enjoy some great food. It will be nine days where I won’t have to work much and I’ll get to wake up in a different town or city every day. I will be blogging and sharing pictures each day. I am excited to share my trip with you, my small audience. One city I plan on visiting is Salt Lake City, Utah. I hope to catch a Utah Jazz playoff game if the schedule aligns. I am excited to see the Rocky Mountains, Great Salt Lake, Yellowstone National Park and many more on my journey.

I’ll be excited to share!

What do YOU think?

