Some other thoughts on the 2016 NBA Draft


While the Minnesota Timberwolves are my favorite team, I was paying attention to some other teams during the night.What the hell was Boston and Sacramento thinking?

First, let’s start with Boston. The Celtics had EIGHT draft picks. All eight picks were made by the Celtics, but just two of the picks were eventually traded, both to Memphis.

I am not a fan of Boston’s roster and how it’ constructed. This is a team, as it stands, that will lose in the first or second round every year until they acquire a superstar. But their roster is not good enough to package a couple of draft picks and a player or two for said superstar. Then, with the No. 3 pick, the Celtics take California’s Jaylen Brown. Why? I’m not saying Brown can’t become good one day, but I really think they should have tried harder to get rid of the pick or take Jamal Murray. A team can never have enough outside shooting or depth at guard, and who is to say Evan Turner, Marcus Smart or Avery Bradley is on the team when training camp starts in September? I don’t know much about Guerschon Yabusele or Ante Zizic, Boston’s other two first round picks.

This is a team that could have taken the next step forward, but I think it took a few steps back.

My other, “What the hell?” team is the Sacramento Kings.

They drafted Marquese Chriss. That’s fine, a young player who will take some time to grow. But then they trade Chriss to Phoenix for Skal Labissiere, Georgios Papagiannis and Bojan Bogdanovic. I agree with the tweet DeMarcus Cousins tweeted during the draft. “Lord, give me the strength.” I mean, he might have overreacted a little, but this is a franchise that was once so proud, now it’s fallen so far since the Maloof brothers sold it. It’s so sad. I believe the NBA needs to have an expansion draft for the Kings when it adds a Las Vegas-based team into the league.

My one, “Hey, go for it moment!” came courtesy of the Milwaukee Bucks. The Bucks drafted Thon Maker, a long 7-1 skinny guy by way of Australia. I like Maker a lot, and I think he has a lot of tools that will help the Bucks. He needs to put on a lot of weight and develop his skill set, but I think, if Jason Kidd is patient and will give the kid some time to make mistakes and grow, he could turn into a possible All-Star down the road. I don’t expect him to have a great rookie season, but stranger things have happened. Without playing any college ball, it will all depend on how fast he picks up the NBA game. And for real, let’s all hope he is really 19.

What do YOU think?

