An ‘expert’s’ guide to help navigate the NCAA bracket


Ah. It’s our favorite time of the year, right? March Madness gets everyone involved, unless you’re my friends. They wouldn’t do a $20-entry, winner-take-all bracket. There is only three of us, so their odds of winning the money is a lot higher than getting a perfect bracket.

Some people just don’t realize a good deal when it’s presented to them.

Oh well. Here are my tips for each region in this year’s bracket.
I’m a genius when it comes to March Madness. I’m so smart, most of the time I do the exact opposite of what I write.

I’m changing that this year.

 

Let’s start with the South Region:

Kansas is the No. 1 seed, and the Jayhawks are steamrolling into the tournament. However, getting through this group of 16 will be a lot tougher than what most overall No. 1 seeds have had to deal with in the past.

Teams like Maryland, Arizona, Miami, California, Iowa, and Connecticut are going to be tough. Did I forget Villanova? That’s right. I did.

Despite what those ESPN, CBS, TBS, TruTV, TNT, and any other sports network “experts” say, Kansas has the toughest draw. A lot of people are down on Maryland, which is good because a lot of people are stupid.

Let’s head to the West Region:

Oh, the Oregon Ducks. Can you believe it? The PAC-12 finally got some respect! They also drew a favorable stable of 15 other teams. Duke has been inconsistent. Texas has been shaky. Texas A&M reminds of me Johnny Football. Oklahoma has been on a downward slid for about a month. Good thing it’s basketball, not debate for Baylor. They might get out of the first round this year.

However, don’t count your eggs before they hatch.

Now to the Midwest Region:

Even though Michigan State got the No. 2 seed, its path to the Final Four is laid in green and white brick. They just need to follow it. Virginia is a strong team, but they bowed out to the Spartans last year, and could very well see them in the Elite Eight. Purdue, Iowa State, and Utah are dark horses, that are about eight furlongs behind the Spartans and Cavaliers. What about those Gonzaga Bulldogs, though?

Finally, the measly East Region:

North Carolina and Kentucky are the two big names in this group, and could meet in the Sweet 16. If Providence scoots past USC, expect the Friars to give the Tar Heels a scare in the second round. I’m not a huge fan of either Xavier or West Virginia, and despite winning the Big Ten, Indiana could lose their first game. Keep your eye on Notre Dame and, I hate saying this, Wisconsin.

It’s all fun-and-games, so don’t blame your bracket on me. I’ll be too busy convincing myself to switch my picks, then blaming myself in two weeks.

 

What do YOU think?

