T’wolves look different, good through two games


While it’s been just two games, with 80 games to go, I have to say that I love what I am seeing from the Minnesota Timberwolves.

Defensively, for the most part, the T’wolves have been good, but not great. I don’t think they will ever be considered great, but the effort has certainly been noteworthy. I still think it’s a little to back off my criticism of Ricky Rubio. I still think he has a long way to go, even though his shot looks a bit better.

The player I’ve been most impressed with, and it’s not even close, is Karl-Anthony Towns. He is a legitimate NBA defender and his offensive game has been spot-on through two games. If he could average 12 points and 10 rebounds, I would say that is very good. However, he is on track to do something special this season. It looks like the T’wolves finally found their foundation.

The player I have been least impressed with is Andrew Wiggins. I expected him to come out of the gate with a lot of energy, but that hasn’t been the case. However, it’s only two games, and he hasn’t been terrible, but I still have reason to complain.

Sam Mitchell’s rotations in the first game of the season really puzzled me. I wondered why he was going 12 men deep in the first half? Thankfully, he tightened up that rotation in the second half, and he used only 10 players in the T’wolves’ blowout victory in Denver.

This team is still the longest of long shots to make the playoffs, but if they are competing every game, at the very least, they’ll be super fun to watch.

What do YOU think?

