Believe It…Or Not!


Anthony Davis is on the verge of receiving one of the biggest contracts in NBA history. (Photo credit to USA Today)
Anthony Davis is on the verge of receiving one of the biggest contracts in NBA history. (Photo credit to USA Today)

Welcome to a new segment called, “Believe It…Or Not!”

Briefly, I’ll discuss the big NBA free agent news and give you my take. You can either believe me or not, even though I’ll tell you what I think.

Let’s get started.The New Orleans Pelicans have given Anthony Davis one of, if not the biggest, contract in NBA history. The Pelicans offered the power forward a five-year, $145 million contract that will pay him an average of $29 million per year. This is his first big contract and it won’t start until next season (2016).

Believe it or not, I love it. I’ve written in the past that this kid will be the face of the NBA for at least 10 seasons and he already got an often-injured Pelicans team to the playoffs this past season. He will soon be a perennial MVP candidate and is guaranteed to bring it on both ends of the floor.

This is figures to be the first of at least three major contracts that he’ll receive in his career.

The San Antonio Spurs normally don’t spend a lot of money, but when they do, it’s usually spent wisely. The Spurs and 2014 NBA Finals MVP and 2015 Defensive Player of the Year, Kawhi Leonard, have agreed, in principal, to a five-year, $90 million contract.

The San Antonio Spurs have dished out big money to keep Kawhi Leonard. (Photo credit to slamonline.com)
The San Antonio Spurs have dished out big money to keep Kawhi Leonard. (Photo credit to slamonline.com)

Believe it or not, I don’t like this contract. While I like Leonard and think he is a very good player, I have yet to see him take the torch from Tim Duncan and Tony Parker. I don’t think he possesses the ability to take over a game like Duncan or Parker. I could be wrong, though. I haven’t watched him as much as I have watched Davis or some other players, so maybe I’m making a poor assessment. I do know that the Spurs had no choice but to offer him this kind of deal, and he deserves it. I just don’t like it.

The Miami Heat have their point guard for the next five years as the organization agreed to a contract worth $90 million with Goran Dragic.

Goran Tragic finally gets big money from the Miami Heat. Is it too much money, though? (Photo credit to hypun.com)
Goran Tragic finally gets big money from the Miami Heat. Is it too much money, though? (Photo credit to hypun.com)

Believe it or not, I strongly oppose this deal. Dragic’s numbers blow nobody away and, on a team that needs scoring, the numbers aren’t there. I like him as a player, but I don’t see him as a guy worthy of $18 million per season. I think this is a bad deal for the Heat and they’ll regret it, just like they’ll regret the contract they gave Chris Bosh last season.

In probably the biggest surprise so far, the Portland Trail Blazers and Al-Farouq Aminu have agreed to a four-year, $30 million contract.

Believe it or not, I like this deal. The Blazers traded Nicolas Batum last week, which I didn’t mind because he was awful last season, and it seems like Portland is going for the half-ass rebuilding method a lot of teams attempt. However, even if the Blazers lose LaMarcus Aldridge, they still have Damian Lillard and some other good pieces that will help them continue to be a playoff team. Aminu won’t score much, but he will guard the other team’s best offensive player and he is versatile enough to play both forward spots.

That’s all I have for now! I’ll either write more today or I’ll come back again tomorrow. Have a great day!

Don’t forget to fill out the poll question, either!

What do YOU think?

