It’s ‘THAT’ Time of Year, again


Today was the first time that I looked at what I wrote before last season’s NCAA Tournament. It was my first time, ever, writing about what I thought would happen in the tournament. When I look back at what I wrote, I just cringe. Last year was the worst year to ever to predict the outcome in the tournament, it was pure “March Madness“. Who would have thought that Butler and VCU would have made it to the Final Four and Butler making it back to the championship game. Here are some of the things I ‘thought’ would’ve happened in the tournament last season and some things that I predicted and got right.

Prediction: Washington Huskies make it to the Elite Eight out of the East region.

What happened: Washington lost by three points to North Carolina, in the second round.

Prediction: Xavier Musketeers make it to the Sweet 16.

What happened: Xavier lost to Marquette in the first round.

Prediction: Kansas Jayhawks with the Southwest region and advance to the Final Four.

What happened: Kansas loses in the Elite Eight to VCU.

Prediction: Oakland surprises Texas in the first round.

What happened: Texas beat Oakland.

Prediction: Utah State loses to Pittsburgh in the Sweet 16.

What happened: Both Utah State and Pittsburgh lose in the first round.

Prediction: Wofford upsets BYU in the first round.

What happened: Wofford loses to BYU.

Prediction: Gonzaga makes it to the Sweet 16.

What happened: Gonzaga gets blown-out by BYU in the second round.

Here are some things I got right . . .

Kentucky beats Ohio State and advances to the Final Four.

Richmond upsets Vanderbilt.

Morehead State upsets Louisville.

I feel I am more prepared for this year’s tournament, but you never know once they lace up the shoes and tip it off. It should be another great March Madness. You will hear more from me next week when the brackets come out.

Until then, keep watching these conference tournaments for the mid-major schools and the last week of the regular season for the power conferences.

What do YOU think?

